GABORONE, Botswana — Fourteen new members — including Olympic medallists, umpires and coaches — from seven nations and four continents were elected into the WBSC Softball Hall of Fame.

From the Gaborone International Convention Centre (GICC), the WBSC Softball Congress ratified the Softball Hall of Fame Commission’s election results:

  • Luis Diaz Ramirez (Colombia) – Administrator
  • Burket Dorsett (Bahamas) – Administrator
  • Doug Chase (Canada) – Player
  • Diana Lucia Duarte Garcia (Guatemala) – Player
  • Johnny Lau Kwok Yip (Hong Kong) – Player
  • Jarrad Martin (New Zealand) – Player
  • Melanie Roche (Australia) – Player
  • Fiona Timu (New Zealand) – Player
  • Natalie Ward (Australia) – Player
  • Godfrey Burnside (Bahamas) – Coach
  • Raymundo Narvaez Montalvo (Colombia) – Coach
  • Roberto Peralta (Panama) – Umpire
  • Bob Leveloff (New Zealand) – Meritorious Service
  • Andrew J. Sherman (Guatemala) – Meritorious Service

New Zealand led with three new members placed into the Softball Hall of Fame, while Australia, Bahamas, Colombia and Guatemala each had two.

Aussie softball legends Melanie Roche and Natalie Ward played at every Olympic Games in which softball has been featured, winning the silver medal with the Australian National Team in 2004 and bronze in 1996, 2000 and 2008.

“WBSC welcomes these new Softball Hall of Fame inductees and their home federations for helping to shape history and our sport,” said newly elected WBSC Softball Chairman Tommy Velazquez. “WBSC Softball Hall of Fame members represent not only years of the highest excellence on the international stage, but also years of service and dedication to building our global sport. Special thanks go to the Softball Hall of Fame Commission for their diligent selection of these legends.”

The latest inductees into the WBSC Softball Hall of Fame raises the total membership to 225.

The Softball Hall of Fame was established in 1981 and inducts new members every two years.