Japan and China are finalists of the 11th Asia Cup Women Softball championship and secured their presence in the WBSC Women’s Softball World Cup 2021

China, Chinese Taipei, Philippines, Korea, Indonesia and Hong Kong will join Australia and New Zealand as the six Asian National Teams participating in the WBSC Softball Asia/Oceania Qualifying Event for the games of the XXXII Olympiad Tokyo 2020, set to be played in Shanghai, China, from 24-29 September. The six nations booked their tickets after the 11th Asia Cup Women Softball championship fifth day of competition in Jakarta, Indonesia.

Yesterday world No. 6 Chinese Taipei, No. 8 China and No. 13 Philippines advanced to the semifinals of the continental tournament and secured their places in the Olympic qualifier event, winning their playoff games over No. 51 Thailand, No. 42 Hong Kong and No. 23 Korea respectively. No 2. Japan, already qualified to Tokyo 2020 as the host country, beat No. 37 Indonesia and completed the semifinals of the continental event.

With four nations fighting for three available berths in Shanghai, today Indonesia topped Thailand, 4-3, and Korea prevailed over Hong Kong, 11-0, to keep their Olympic dreams alive. Then, Hong Kong and Thailand faced each other with the last spot in the Asia/Oceania qualifier at stake, and Hong Kong claimed the game with a 13-3 win.

The eight-team Softball Asia-Oceania Qualifier is slated to be played in Shanghai, China, from 24 to 28 September. Australia, China, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Korea, New Zealand and the Philippines will be split into two groups, and the top two National Teams in each group will advance to a Super Round. The winner will become the last guest to the six-team softball competition at the Games.

The groups and schedule will be decided by a draw, to be held on 10 July, at WBSC headquarters in Lausanne, Switzerland.

China, Japan to play for the Asian title, qualify for Softball World Cup 2021

China and Japan will play for the championship title of the 11th Asia Cup Women Softball championship and became the first qualified teams for the WBSC Women’s Softball World Cup 2021. China beat Chinese Taipei, 4-2, while Japan advanced after a 10-0 victory over the Philippines. Japan will be going for their fifth consecutive title and seventh title in the history of the competition. Chinese Taipei and Philippines will battle for the bronze medal and the third and last spot available for the World Cup.

The Championship Game and the Bronze Medal Game will be played on Tuesday, 7 May.