IZU CITY, Japan – The top youth players from six nations are set to compete and represent their countries in the IX Baseball Federation of Asia (BFA) U-15 Championship, which opens Wednesday, 1 November, at Izu City’s Shida Stadium.

The 15-game, round-robin tournament for the Asian title includes world No. 1 Japan, No. 3 Korea, No. 4 Chinese Taipei, No. 26 Pakistan, No. 35 Hong Kong and No. 47 Philippines.

The final standings will be based on each team’s overall win-loss record in group play, which ends on Sunday, 5 November.

The winner and 2nd Place finisher of the BFA U-15 continental championship will advance to play For the Title of World Champion at next year’s WBSC U-15 Baseball World Cup.

Chinese Taipei is the three-time defending U-15 Asia champion and has won six of the last seven titles.

IX BFA U-15 Championship 2017 – Schedule 

Opening Day – Wednesday, 1 Nov

  • TPE vs PAK at 8:30a
  • PHI vs KOR at 11:00a
  • HKG vs JPN at 1:30p

Baseball Gate will live-stream all games of host nation Samurai Japan.

As a direct qualifier into a Baseball World Cup, the players in Izu will be earning points for their nations in the WBSC Baseball World Ranking Presented by ENEOS.

The IX BFA U-15 Championship is being hosted by the Baseball Federation of Japan.

WBSC U-15 Baseball World Cup 2018

  • Africa (1): TBD
  • Asia (2): TBD
  • Americas (5): Dominican Republic, United States, 2x defending U-15 Baseball World Cup champion Cuba, Panama, Brazil
  • Europe (2): Germany, Netherlands
  • Oceania (1): TBD
  • Wild Card (1): TBD