SYDNEY — The seventh Australian Baseball League (ABL) season is underway and consists of 10 four-game series that will be contested from mid-November to the end of January.

Each of the league’s six pro clubs — Adelaide Bite, Brisbane Bandits, Canberra Calvary, Perth Heat, Melbourne Aces and Sydney Blue Sox — will play a 40-game regular season, with the Bandits entering as the defending ABL champions.

The Aussie top-tier baseball league features the nation’s best talent, including National Team (both Men’s and U-23) stars.  Both Aussie and international prospects from Major League Baseball affiliates will be looking to bring their team the Claxton Shield (ABL Championship trophy).

The Blue Sox feature three of Australia’s four U-23 All-World Team 2016 members, including slugger Guy Edmonds, shortshop Jacon Younis and pitcher Joshua Guyer.  Zac Shepherd (Detroit Tigers), who also helped Australia capture the U-23 Baseball World Cup silver medal in Mexico earlier this month, will patrol the Blue Sox infield.

U-23 All-World first baseman Conor MacDonald (Houston Astros) will suit up for the Bandits.

Canberra will feature six prospects from one MLB organisation – the Toronto Blue Jays — while U-23 National Team catcher Robbie Perkins (Colorado Rockies) will do service behind the plate for the Cavalry.

Backed by major sponsor Boral and the Victorian Government, the ABL 2016 All-Star Game will be played on 22 December at Melbourne Ballpark.

The 7th ABL Championship Series will begin on 10 February.

The ABL is an Associate Member of the WBSC.