The Italian Championship of baseball for the blind will take off on Saturday, 16 March at the Li Punti field in Sassari, Sardinia. The hosts Tigers Cagliari will face the Milan Thunder’s Five, Lombardia.
The following day Thunder’s Five will play Thurpos Catania, Sicily, in Sassari and two more games are scheduled in Perugia: Fiorentina (Tuscany)-Roma (the Capital City is in the Lazio Region) and the hosts Umbria Redskins will face the Bologna White Sox, Emilia Romagna.

The first weekend of action will thus see seven of the 11 participating teams take the field. The other four are the defending Champions Patrini Malnate, Lampi Milano, Leonessa Brescia (all three based in the Lombardia Region) and Staranzano, in northeastern Friuli Venezia Giulia.

At the end of the regular season, 30 June, the top four teams will play the semifinals and the winners will advance to the finals. The postseason is scheduled over two weekends: 6 and 13 July.


Italy developed an original version of Baseball for the Blind since 1997 thanks to AIBxC, Associazione Italiana Baseball per Ciechi. The 2019 championship is organized by LIBCI, Lega Italiana Baseball Ciechi ed Ipovedenti, and is sanctioned by the Italian Baseball Softball Federation (FIBS).

Related Article: Blind baseball in the USA, Europe