MELBOURNE, Australia — The Brisbane Bandits won the Australian Baseball League (ABL) Championship Series, defeating the Melbourne Aces in the Finals (two games to zero), to repeat as the top club in the nation and keep the Claxton Shield in Brisbane.

Arriving to the championship series, the Bandits knocked out the Adelaide Bite in the playoffs, while the Aces qualified directly as the 2016/2017 ABL regular season champions.

The ABL, now in its seventh season, features Australia’s top baseball talent, including many Australian National Team members, as well as prospects from Major League Baseball affiliates.

Australian Baseball has risen to No. 10 in the WBSC Baseball World Rankings.

The ABL is an Associate Member of the WBSC.