The Cuban National Team will return to the WBSC Men’s Softball World Championship on 14 June, when they take the field to open the tournament against Philippines in Havlickuv Brod, Czech Republic. More than 30 years after its first and only participation in the men’s softball pinnacle event, Cuba will be battling again For The Title of World Champion.

Cuba played their only Men’s Softball World Championship in 1988, in Saskatoon, Canada. After the round robin, they advanced to the playoffs with a 10-3 record. However, they lost to Canada to finish fourth place.

The Caribbean nation will be playing this year’s World Championship in Group A, along with World No 1 New Zealand, Japan (3), Argentina (5), Czech Republic (7), Mexico (9), Botswana (13) and Philippines (17). You can see the complete schedule here.

Two weeks ago, the Cuban Softball Federation announced the 17 players to represent the Caribbean nation in their second World Championship appearance. Head Coach Leonardo Cárdenas has chosen the following players to make the trip to Czech Republic:

  • Héctor Luis Castillo (OF)
  • Luis Raúl Domínguez (IF)
  • Alberto Hernández (P)
  • Reinaldo Lamothe (OF)
  • Alain López (P)
  • Osvaldo Pérez (IF)
  • Gusbel Plutín (P)
  • Yurisamdre Ramos (U)
  • Andrés Reina(C)
  • Yasmani Ríos (IF)
  • Juan Carlos Rodríguez (OF)
  • Yesander Rodríguez (IF)
  • Yuri Rodríguez (OF)
  • Alain Román (P)
  • Roger Rosete (OF)
  • Wilfredo Sánchez (IF)
  • Reinier Vera (C)

Cuba received the wild card to participate in the WBSC Men’s Softball World Championship, after finishing fifth at the Pan American Championship 2017 in Dominican Republic, and winning the Gold Medal at the Central American and Caribbean Games Barranquilla 2018. This summer they will also participate at the Pan American Games Lima 2019, after 16 years of absence in the continental multi-sports event.