SURREY (Canada) — The Championship Round Robin at the 2016 Women’s Softball World Championship has concluded, leaving eight teams remaining in the hunt for the Gold Medal.

See Schedule

Following the four-day Championship Round group stage in the women’s international softball flagship event, eight nations (the top two nations from each pool) have advanced into a Double-Page Playoff beginning today to determine the 2016 Women’s Softball World Champion.

The national teams to survive through into the Playoffs include:

  • No. 1 Japan
  • No. 2 United States
  • No. 4 Canada
  • No. 6 China
  • No. 7 Netherlands
  • No. 8 New Zealand
  • No. 14 Mexico
  • No. 19 Venezuela

The bottom two teams in each pool have been eliminated from medal contention but will continue in a Single-Page Playoff to determine final standing.

The record 30 participating national teams in the WBSC Women’s Softball World Championship represent a global reach that spans across all regions — Africa, Asia, Europe, Central-, North- and South America, and Oceania — and will play 124 games in today before a World Champion is crowned.

The gold medal game will take centre stage on 24 July at 18:00, and will be preceded by the bronze medal match at 13:00.


Continued coverage of the 2016 Women’s Softball World Championship is available via Play-by-play can be followed via