Europe stages biggest-ever U-12 Youth Baseball Championship

BUDAPEST, Hungary – Italy and Czech Republic will represent Europe in the World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) U-12 Baseball World Cup® 2019 in Tainan, Taiwan.

Fourteen nations, the most ever, competed in the U-12 European Baseball Championship 2018 in Budapest.

World No. 15 Italy defeated No. 18 Czech Republic, 11-0, in the Final of the U-12 European Championship 2018, where the top two finishers qualified for the U-12 Baseball World Cup.

In the bronze medal match, No. 27 Russia shocked Europe’s top-ranked nation, No. 9 Netherlands, 10-3.

The two European representatives are the first nations to be entered into the 12-nation global battle For the Title of World Champion at the V U-12 Baseball World Cup.

“Congratulations to Italy and Czech Republic, who proved in Budapest to have the best U-12 teams in Europe this year, and next year they will compete against the best youth teams on the planet at the U-12 Baseball World Cup in Tainan,” said WBSC President Fraccari. “Congratulations also to Russia on earning the bronze medal. This biggest-ever U-12 European Baseball Championship showcases baseball/softball as a leader in youth sports. WBSC is proud to be the first and only international sports federation to stage an official World Cup at the U-12 level.”

Italy will make their first return to the U-12 Baseball World Cup since 2013, while Czech Republic finished in 8th Place at the last U-12 Baseball World Cup (2017).

Through the continental championships/qualifiers, the composition of the U-12 Baseball World Cup is as follows:

Continent No. of Representatives
Africa 1
Americas 4
Asia 3
Europe 2
Oceania 1
Wild Card 1

USA Baseball’s U-12 National Team has been the best youth team on the planet, claiming three consecutive World Championships at the U-12 Baseball World Cup (2013, 2015 and 2017).

FINAL STANDINGS – U-12 European Baseball Championship 2018

  1. Italy
  2. Czech Republic
  3. Russia
  4. Netherlands
  5. France
  6. Germany
  7. Hungary
  8. Belgium
  9. Ukraine
  10. Slovakia
  11. Great Britain
  12. Austria
  13. Poland
  14. Croatia