Florida State Seminoles won the NCAA Women’s College World Series (WCWS) for the first time in history, with a two-game swept against Washington in the final series. The NCAA WSWC is the biggest college softball event in the world.

Puerto Rican star Meghan King had an outstanding performance over the week, including the two wins in the final series for her team. The left-handed pitcher totaled four wins, one save and only one earned run in 34 1/3 innings.

Three more players of the Puerto Rico National Team also participated in the finals. Carsyn Gordon and Corina Rosario also crowned champions with Florida State, while in the other side, right hander Taran Alvelo played for Washington and was charged with the loss in the second and final game of the series.

Other international athletes in this year’s Women’s College World Series include Team USA pitchers Kelly Barnhill (Florida) and Rachel García (UCLA), Puerto Rican Aleshia Ocasio (Florida) and Australian Gabbie Plain who pitched for the aussie team in the WBSC Junior Women’s Softball World Championship 2017. Most of them are expected to play in Chiba, Japan, representing their nations in the WBSC Women’s Softball World Championship, to be played from 2-12 August this year.

For the 18th consecutive season, ESPN televised every game of the WCWS live from USA Softball Hall of Fame Stadium – OGE Energy Field in Oklahoma City. Olympic softball legends Jessica Mendoza and Michele Smith served as analysts during the broadcastings.

USA Softball has hosted the Women’s College World Series since 1990 (with the exception of 1996 when it was played in Atlanta, Ga. ahead of the 1996 Olympic Games) and is scheduled to be the home of the event through 2035.