Six teams are competing in the West Asia Baseball Cup, that took off in Sri Lanka on Monday, 15 July. The six-team tournament will qualify the top 2 finishers to the Asian Championship, to be played later this year in Chinese Taipei.

The six participants are divided into two groups.
Sri Lanka, India and Nepal compete in group A, while Pakistan, Iran and Bangladesh see action in group 2.

West Asia Baseball Cup: the schedule

In day 1 of group play the hosts Sri Lanka defeated India 2-1, scoring the go ahead run in the bottom of the ninth and overcoming a couple of defensive errors. Sri Lanka Starting pitcher Silva allowed only  3 hits over 5.2 innings.
In the second match of Day 1  Pakistan outscored Iran, 11-1.
On the second day, Sri Lanka beat Nepal, 13-0, in a game called after 5 because of rain and Pakistan outscored Bangladesh 17-0.

These are the standings after 2 days of group play:

GROUP A Sri Lanka (2 wins-0 losses), India, Nepal (0-1)
GROUP B Pakistan (2-0), Iran, Bangladesh (0-1)

Sri Lanka and Pakistan are already qualified for the semifinals, scheduled for Thursday, 18 July.
The games India-Nepal and Iran-Bangladesh will serve to determine the other two National Teams set for the medal round.

The final is scheduled for Saturday, 20 July.