From 30 nations to the final three: United States, Japan, and Canada all guaranteed to medal
SURREY, Canada — World No. 1 Japan and No. 4 Canada will meet tomorrow, 24 July, in the bronze medal match of the 2016 WBSC Women’s Softball World Championship. The winner will then face No. 2 United States in the world championship gold medal game, whereas the loser will be awarded the bronze.
Sunday will crown the world champion after 122 games of tournament play, which began on 15 July with a record 30 nations from around the globe.

FINALS SCHEDULE — Sunday, 24 July

Bronze Medal Game
World No. 4 Canada vs. No. 1 Japan

Gold Medal Game
Winner of bronze medal game vs. No. 2 United States


Japan (5-0) and the United States (6-0) finished atop their pools undefeated in both the preliminary and championship round robins to advance to the playoffs. Japan defeated Mexico 2-0, while the United States defeated Venezuela 7-0 to advance to the semi-final game.

Canada (5-1) and the Netherlands (5-1) won their pools in the preliminary round and finished in second place in the championship round. In the playoffs, Canada defeated China 4-3 and Mexico 5-0, while the Netherlands defeated New Zealand 8-2 and Venezuela 8-1 to advance to the semi-final game.

In the first semi-final game, the United States defeated Japan 4-3 to advance to the gold medal game.

In the second semi-final game, Canada defeated the Netherlands 9-2 to face Japan in the bronze medal game.

The 15th Women’s Softball World Championship in Surrey has brought together 30 national teams from all five regions, representing the largest global footprint in the event’s history, as ten nations made their women’s world championship debuts.


Continued coverage of the 2016 Women’s Softball World Championship is available via Play-by-play can be followed via