Japan won the World University Baseball Championship defeating, 8-3, the hosts Chinese Taipei in the gold medal game played in Chiayi City.

Hiromu Ise earned the win going seven innings and allowing one run over 6 hits.

Chinese Taipei took the lead in the second. Japan scored two in the third on a home run by right fielder Tatsuya Ochi off Shuo Cheng Wei.

In the fourth Japan added four runs, taking full advantage of a throwing error by Wei and adding three hits against reliever Hsuan Ta Liu.

South Korea claimed a bronze medal as they defeated, 7-4, the USA in the third place game.

Starter Jun Young Choi dominated USA’s line up for six innings and when the American offense got to him, Korea was sitting on a comfortable 7-0 lead, built by strong performances by the top of the batting order. Left fielder Sun Hyeong Yoo went 2 for 3 with 3 RBIs. Shortstop Woo Gun Kim and second baseman Don Kyu Kim had both 2 RBIs.

The World University Baseball Championship 2018 was played by eight teams. These are the final standings:

1 Japan
2 Chinese Taipei
3 South Korea
5 Czech Republic
6 Russia
7 Australia
8 Hong Kong

It was the sixth edition of the World University Baseball Championship and the first won by Japan.
USA won 3 (2004, 2006, 2008) of the previous 5 editions and Cuba won the other 2 (2002, 2010).