World No. 3 Korea captured its third Asian Games baseball Gold Medal after defeating No. 2 Japan, 3-0, in the finale at the Gelora Bung Karno Baseball Field in Jakarta. With the victory, Korea became the first country to win three consecutive baseball gold medals at the Asian Games.

Starter Yang Hyeon-jong allowed only one hit over six innings, and two-time KBO MVP Byung-ho Park hit a solo shot in the third inning to lead Korea to the Gold Medal. The former MLB player homered in each of the last four games of the event.

Hyunsoo Kim and Hyeonjong Yang were also part of Korea’s winning team in 2010 and 2014, and joined Chang-Yong Lim (1998, 2002, 2014, also from Korea) as the only players to grab three gold medals in the baseball competition of the Asian Games. Kim also holds an Olympic 2008 Gold Medal.

Korea has won five of seven baseball golds in Asian Games history.

In the Bronze Medal Game, Chinese Taipei defeated China by a score of 10-0, and clinched its seventh overall medal in history, and third bronze. In the other hand, China couldn’t win its first medal in history, ending at fourth place for the seventh consecutive time at the Asian Games.

Final standings

Gold Medal Korea

Silver Medal Japan

Bronze Medal Chinese Taipei



6.Hong Kong