The 10th Men’s Softball Asian Championship is set to begin on Monday in Jakarta, Indonesia, with nine teams from across Asia competing over the six-day event. It will be the first time the event is played in Indonesia.

Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong, Japan, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand will compete for the Asian title from 23-28 April. The teams will complete a 36-game single round robin, with the top four teams advancing to the page playoff.

World N° 3 Japan will try to win its seventh consecutive title. They defeat N° 17 Philippines in the last six finals of the tournament, and seek to keep the streak alive.

Indonesia will try to reach the final for the first time in history; they´ve won the Bronze medal in the last three editions of the event.

In the other hand, both N° 16 India and N° 17 Hong Kong will try to reach the podium at the continental level and being back in the world stage in in 2019. India made its debut in a WBSC Men’s Softball World Championship in 2017, while Hong Kong returned to the world stage after a 13-year hiatus.

Chinese Taipei has made the podium four times before (with two Silver and two Bronze medals), but ended out of the top three in the last three Asian Championship.

Finally, Malaysia, Singapore, and Thailand will try to make the playoffs

The tournament will be played in the Softball Stadium Gelora Bung Karno. This will be a test event for the upcoming Asian Games 2018, to be held in Jakarta, Indonesia, from 18 August to 2 September.

The 9-nation regional championship will qualify the top 3 teams for the 2019 WBSC Men’s Softball World Championship.

Monday – April 23rd, 2018

Game Time Match
1 8:00 TPE vs HKG
2 8:00 JPN vs IND
3 10:15 INA vs MAS
4 10:15 PHI vs SIN
5 12:30 TPE vs THA
6 12:30 HKG vs IND
7 14:45 INA vs PHI
8 14:45 MAS vs SIN