The International Authority of Baseball & Softball.

SYDNEY — Baseball Australia announced the players and coaching staff that will represent the nation at the upcoming WBSC U-18 Baseball World Cup, to be played 1 through 10 September in Thunder Bay, Canada.

Steve Fish was appointed the manager. His staff will feature pitching coach Graeme Lloyd and assistant coaches Damian Shanahan. David Kandilas and Tyler Anderson. Below the 20 men roster:

Jake Amos (New South Wales), Nic Anderson-Vine (New South Wales), Jordan Barnett (Victoria), Josh Bedggood (Queenslans), Jackson Boyd (Victoria), Brodie Cooper Vassalakis (Australian Capital Territory), Jarryd Dale (Victoria), Mitchell Edwards (Australian Capital Territory), Dermot Fritsch (Queenslamnd), Jake Green (Australian Capital Territory), Alex Hall (WEstern Australia), Ky Hampton (Southern Australia), Liam Holm (New South Wales), Duane Johannsen (Queensland), Jack O’Loughlin (Southern Australia), Lochlan Southee (Western Australia), Jess Williams (Western Australia), Rixon Wingrove (New South Wales), Jett Wright (Western Australia), Coen Wynne (New South Wales)

Baseball Australia’s Head of High Performance Glenn Williams said through the organization’s website: “We feel we have a very versatile club…I am excited to see how they fare throughout the entirety of the program and have no doubt they will give it everything they have.”

Australia (with its highest-ever ranking at No. 8 in the WBSC Baseball World Rankings) will play in Group A against Canada (10), Korea (3), Chinese Taipei (4), Italy (12) and Nicaragua (15). Before the tournament starts, they will have a chance to play 8 warm-up games.

At the U-18 Baseball World Cup 2010 in Thunder Bay, Australia earned a historical silver medal, eliminating Cuba in the semi-final thanks to a memorable 2-1 win.