The International Authority of Baseball & Softball.

Italy, Chinese Taipei and The Netherlands get started with wins against South Africa, Mexico and Nicaragua in the consolation round ot the WBSC U-18 Baseball World Cup 2017.

Italy (2-1) beat (9-2) South Africa (0-3) in a game the azzurri led from start to finish.

South Africa strand 3 runners in the top of the first while Italy goes ahead in the bottom half of the frame, scoring 3 off Mohamed Alaoui, who had gon the distance allowing only 5 hits to undefeated USA. Alaoui hits left fielder Flisi to begin the game, South Africa second baseman Wentzel commits an error, center fielder Bertossi and first baseman Seminati connect for base hits.
South Africa has 4 errors in as many innings. A throwing error by Alaoui allows second baseman Paolini to add a run for Italy in the third.
Italy add 2 more runs in the fourth 1 in the sixth and 2 in the eigth. They never need to look back, despite 2 defensive errors. South Africa alway lack the timely hitting to start a rally.
Giovanni Bortolamai goes the distance for Italy, allowing 2 unearned run on 8 hits and 3 walks, while striking out 4.

Giovanni Bortalamai (James Mirabelli-WBSC)

Chinese Taipei (3-0) used a fourth inning 7 run rally to beat (9-1) Mexico (1-2).

Dario Gardea, Adrian Sanudo for Mexico and Liu Chih Jung for Chinese Taipei keep it scoreless until the end of the third.
Liu pitches one more scoreless inning, while Sanudo goes into trouble in the bottom of the fourth as he walks center fielder Chiu Tan and lead off third baseman Wang Hung Hi. Second baseman Tseng Han Yu drops a bunt for a base hit and loads the bases. This ends Sanudo game and Mexico calls Palafox from the bull pen. The newcomer allows 2 runs on back to back walks and leaves the mound to Martin Rodriguez. One more runs scores on a frounder by designated hitter Tai Pei Lin. Chinese Taipei breaks the score open on back to back singles by first baseman Li Yu Chuan and  left fielder Lee Cheng Ling. To end the inning Mexico need to call Estrada from the bull pen.
Chinese Taipei add 2 runs in the seventh thanks to back to back base hits by Tai Pei Lin and Li Yu Chuan and a little help from a defensive error.
Mexico finally gets on the scoreboard in the eighth. Liu Chih Jung loads the bases and his reliever Chu Yi Sheng walks a run in.

Manzanarez of Mexico fields against Chinese Taipei Chiu Tan (Christian J Stewart-WBSC).

The Netherlands (3-0) stay undefeated  in the consolation round as they beat (8-3) Nicaragua (1-2).

Starters Angel Obando and Gregorio Leito keep it scoreless for 3 innings. In the top of the fourth Nicaragua takes the lead. Shortstop Jeyner Sanchez gets to Leito with a double and advances to third on a base hit by catcher Loaisiga. With 2 outs, Leito forces in a run walking first baseman Castillo and hitting second baseman Jefersson Lopez and right fielder Carlos Perez.
The Netherlands tie it in the bottom of the fifth. With one out, designated hitter Bryson singles and lead off left fielder Tromp walks. Runners advance on a balk by Obando and score on a double by shortstop Kelkboom.
The Netherlands take the lead in the bottom of the sixth. Catcher Koster singles and advances as rightfielder Halderman walks. This marks the end of the game for Obando, who leaves the mound to Andrew Budier. The reliever gets the first out on strikes (first baseman Takke), but then gives up a single to Bryson and a walk to Tromp that allow Koster to score.
The Netherlands extend the lead in the bottom of the seventh. Pinch hitter Van de Sande walks and third baseman Selassa advances him with an infield single. Koster scores Van de Sande on a base hit. Then back to back walks (Halderman, Takke) make it 5-2. Nicaragua sends Elsner Lopez to the mound and the reliever gets Bryson to ground out. Koster scores on the play and The Netherlands add 2 more runs thanks to a defensive error and a wild pitch.
Stefan Iannelli allows one run in the eighth and picks up the win, before leaving for William De Groot.

Van de Sande, Kelkboom and Takke celebrate Netherland’s win (James Mirabelli-WBSC)