The twenty-third Pakistan Khawar Shah National Baseball Championship began on Monday, 5 March, at Aashiq Hussain Baseball Stadium in Bahria Town, Lahore. Teams from Balochistan, KPK, Sindh, Punjab, Fata, Islamabad, Pakistan WAPDA, Pakistan Army, Pakistan Police and HEC are participating in the Championship. The tournament will last until Saturday, 10 March.

It is the first National Championship after the death of Khawar Shah, the founding President of the Pakistan Baseball Federation (PFB).
“He was a towering and dedicated personality of sports in this country” said PFB President Fakhar Ali Shah as he announced that the National Championship was renamed after Khawar Shah.

Syed Khawar Shah

Brig. (Rtd.) Khalil Ullah Butt, Administrator of Bahria Town, Lahore, was the main guest and inaugurated the tournament.

In the opening game Punjab defeated Islamabad 16-2.
KPK won, 19-3, the second game against Sindh.
The third game of the day saw Fata beat Baluchistan 10-0.