WBSC Europe unveiled today the games schedule of the 21st Women’s Softball European Championship, slated to be played in the Czech Republic and Poland from 30 June to 6 July. A total of 23 National Teams will participate in the event, vying to finish in the top six of the tournament, and earn a spot in the Europe/Africa Softball Olympic Qualifier, less than three weeks after crowning the European champion.

Four different cities will host the 113 games: Ostrava, Frydek Mistek (CZE), Rybnik and Zory (POL). It’s the first time ever the Women’s Softball European Championship is organized by two countries. The final will take place in Ostrava on Saturday 6 July, at 18:00 local time. The last two days of competition will be broadcast live by Playo.tv.

The 23 teams will play the round robin in four groups. See the complete schedule here.

Czech Republic heads Group A, followed by Sweden, France, Belgium, Slovakia and Lithuania.

Italy will play in Group B along with Spain, Austria, Ukraine, Israel and Turkey.

Group C features the defending champion, the Netherlands, Russia, Poland, Ireland, Denmark and Hungary.

Finally, Group D showcases Great Britain, Greece, Germany, Croatia and Switzerland.

Not only the European Championship will be at stake in this event. The top six finishers will play the eight-team Europe/Africa Softball Olympic Qualifier, along with the two best African nations. This event will be held in Utrecht, the Netherlands, from 23-27 July, and only the winner of this tournament will advance to the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020.

U16 Womens European Championship schedule

WBSC Europe also announced the schedule of all women’s competitions for 2019. The U-16 Women’s European Championship 2019 will be held for the first time ever in Zagreb, Croatia, from 29 July to 3 August. A total of 14 teams will participate in the event, in four groups.

  • Group A: Czech Republic, Great Britain, Croatia
  • Group B: Germany, Rusia, Belgium, Hungary
  • Group C: Italy, France, Slovakia, Turkey
  • Group D: Netherlands, Ukraine, Poland

See the full schedule here.