SANTO DOMINGO, Dominican Republic — Following the conclusion of the round robin at the Pan American Women’s Softball Championship, seven national teams have now qualified for the Barranquilla 2018 Central American and Caribbean Games. Mexico, Venezuela, Puerto Rico, Cuba, Dominican Republic, and Curacao (for the English Caribbean region) will join host Colombia in the women’s Softball competition in the regional multi-sports event.

The 2018 Central American and Caribbean Games will be held in Barranquilla, Colombia, from July 20 to August 3, 2018. These Games is a multi-sport event held every four years since 1926 in different cities and countries from Central American and Caribbean Sea region and is the oldest regional multi-sport event in the world. The event is coordinated by the Central American and Caribbean Sports Organization (ODECABE).

The last edition was held in Veracruz in 2014, and the Dominican Republic won the Gold Medal in Softball, after beat Cuba in the final by 6-5. Bronze Medal went to Colombia, while Mexico, Venezuela and Guatemala ended outside the medal zone.