Softball's Umpire AreaIt all starts here.
Welcome to Softball’s Umpire Area
The World Baseball Softball Confederations aims to identify, train and assess umpires across the globe in order to improve the quality and consistency of officiating throughout the game of softball. The WBSC strives to promote better communications between umpires, coaches and staff to be able to provide consistency in the interpretation of the Official Softball Rules.
Rule Modifications & Interpretations, Technical Bulletins
Any player may wear a glove, but only the catcher and first base may use mitts.
b. Gloves worn by any player and may be any combination of colors, provided none of the colors (including the lacing) are the color of the ball.
There is a possibility of a misunderstanding when reading the aforementioned rules together. Unfortunately it will take a rule change to totally clear up, however we cannot do a rule change this year. Until the rules change, we will have separate rulings under Rule 7 Sec 1 f Effect and Rule 8 Sec 2 k. Exception. Rule 8 Sec 2 k Exception will not apply to the on-deck batter who is covered under Rule 7 Sec 1 f Effect.read more
No outs, Runner on 3rd base. Pitcher makes a pitch, the first base umpire calls “illegal pitch”, the batter swings at the pitch, but is obstructed by the catcher, despite the obstruction the batter hits safely to F9. How does the play stand?read more
R2 on 2B. B4 bats a short hit to F8 who throws to F2 in an attempt to retire R2. The throw hits the bat which was discarded by the batter in front of home plate after R2 scored, B4 advances to 2B.read more
Runner on first, the runner takes off to steal the base, it’s a passed ball, the runner slides into second, The short stop tells the runner it’s a foul ball, (without faking a tag). The runner stands up and returns to first where he is tagged him OUT!, but the base umpire tells him to stay in second because the short stop said it was a foul ball.
Should it be consider an out or should the runner be entitled to second??