Baseball in Puerto Rico completed a miracle. The 79th season of the Liga de Béisbol Superior Doble A, the National Championship organized by the Puerto Rico Baseball Federation, came successfully to an end as the Toritos de Cayey defeated the Cariduros de Fajardo in the final series and earned their third league title.

The third and final win of the Toritos came in front of a full house of over 6,000 at the Pedro Montañez stadium in Cayey, a city in the central part of the island.

“Nobody believed we could have a baseball season in 2018,” commented Puerto Rico Baseball Federation President José Quiles, “but it was a great season and the title goes to a very important franchise.”

After hurricane Maria hit the Caribbean island hard and damaged most of the ballparks, the beginning of the season was delayed to April, that is two months later than the traditional opening.

A total 38 teams, representing six different Regions, participated to the National Championship.

Pitcher Fernando Cabrera, who won two games in the final series, was named the Most Valuable Played (MVP). Cabrera, born in 1981 in Toa Baja, pitched in 132 games for the Cleveland Indians, the Baltimore Orioles and the Boston Red Sox in a seven-year Major League Baseball (MLB) career from 2004 to 2010.

Toritos receive Championship Trophy

President Puerto Rico José Quiles, the President of the Baseball Federation of Puerto Rico, awards Héctor De Jesús of the Toritos de Cayey