TAICHUNG, Taiwan – The 11th Asian Women’s Softball Championship is set to open in Taichung City, Taiwan and will run from 28 November to 5 December.

The 12-nation regional championship will serve as the qualifiers for both the 2018 WBSC Women’s Softball World Championship in Chiba, Japan and the 2018 Asian Games in Jakarta, Indonesia.

The top 5 teams of this championship will advance to next year’s regional multi-sport Games, while the top 3 will book their tickets to the WBSC flagship women’s softball event.

The Championship will feature 12 Women’s National Teams from the Asian region, divided into two pools.

Group A: No. 1 Japan, No. 17 Philippines, No. 26 Korea, NR Hong Kong, NR Pakistan, NR Thailand
Group B: No. 6 China, No. 9 Chinese Taipei, No. 35 Singapore, No. 36 India, NR Indonesia, NR Iran

Following a preliminary round robin within each group, the top two teams from each group will advance to the playoffs.