India, Iran, Iraq, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka will compete for the West Asia baseball title.

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan — The 13th edition of the West Asia Baseball Cup is set to take place at the Pakistan Sports Complex in Islamabad from 25 February to 1 March.  Six countries will compete for the biggest baseball prize in West Asia.

World No. 24 Pakistan, No. 67 Iraq and No. 72 Nepal will start the tournament in Group A, while No. 52 Sri Lanka, No. 54 Iran, No. 61 India will be in Group B.  The top two nations from each group will advance to the semi-finals.  Host Pakistan will enter the tournament as the reigning champions of West Asia.

The winner will advance to the BFA Asia Baseball Championship 2017 and get a boost in the WBSC Baseball World Rankings.

Government Backs Baseball

Pakistan’s federal government has backed the event as a recent policy to promote the sport of baseball.

“The federal government has set up [Pakistan Baseball’s] national training camp in Islamabad,” said Pakistan Federation Baseball President Khawar Shah.  The PFB leader also said the government will oversee security, accommodations and meal service for all National Team delegations.

Khawar also disclosed that federal support to operate a league open to both elite domestic and foreign players was also a possibility — positive news for the growth and development of baseball in West Asia.

The XIII West Asia Baseball Cup is being hosted by the Pakistan Federation Baseball in conjunction with the Baseball Federation of Asia – the World Baseball Softball Confederation’s baseball arm across the continent.