26/11/2022 - 04/12/2022


Hosted by:   NZL

XVII Men's Softball World Cup 2022 - Official Payoff

Men's Softball Pan American Championship to be played in April in Paraná, Argentina

Men's Softball Pan American Championship to be played in April in Paraná, Argentina
The tournament, which serves as the Americas qualifier for the WBSC Men’s Softball World Cup, will run from 24-30 April.

The WBSC Americas Softball presented the official logo of the Pan American Softball Championship and announced the details of the continental event, which serves as the Americas qualifier for the WBSC Men’s Softball World Cup. The tournament will be held at Nafaldo Cargnel Stadium in Parana, Argentina, from 24-30 April.

A total of 10 countries from the American continent will participate in the competition, including world No. 2 Argentina, No. 6 Canada, No. 7 USA, No. 8 Mexico, No. 11 Venezuela, No. 12 Guatemala, No. 14 Cuba, No. 35 Dominican Republic, No. 37 Colombia, and unranked Puerto Rico.

The top-four finishers in the standings will advance to the WBSC Men’s Softball World Cup to be played in Auckland, New Zealand, from 26 November to 4 December later this year. The championship will also qualify five teams for the Pan American Games Santiago 2023 and the Central American and Caribbean Games San Salvador 2023.

Venezuela will try to complete the Pan American Championship three-peat, after its victories against Argentina in the last two finals of this tournament in Parana 2014 and Santo Domingo 2017. However, host Argentina won the gold medal at the Lima 2019 Pan American Games, after beating the United States 7-0 in the final. The host nation is also the reigning world champion.

The first Men's Pan American Championship was played in Maracay, Venezuela, in 1981. Since then, 10 editions have been held. Canada and Venezuela are the top winners of this event with three championships, followed by the United States (two), Cuba and the Netherlands Antilles (one title each).

The four qualified nations from the Americas will join No. 3 Australia, No. 4 Czech Republic, No. 5 New Zealand, No. 9 Denmark, No. 10 South Africa, two teams from Asia and a wild card at the 12-team WBSC Men’s Softball World Cup.