10/11/2024 - 24/11/2024


Hosted by:   TPE JPN MEX

III Premier12 2024 presented by RAXUS - Official Payoff
Premier12 2024 presented by RAXUS: World's Top 12 nations qualified for WBSC's flagship baseball tournament
20/12/2023 2 Minute Read

Premier12 2024 presented by RAXUS: World's Top 12 nations qualified for WBSC's flagship baseball tournament

The top 12 teams in the WBSC/Konami Men's Baseball World Rankings at the end of 2023 qualify for the Premier12 2024, the most important event on the international baseball calendar next year.

LAUSANNE, Switzerland - The World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) unveiled the qualified nations for the III WBSC Premier12 presented by RAXUS - the top 12 programmes in the WBSC/KONAMI Men's Baseball World Ranking - No. 1 Japan, No. 2 Mexico, No. 3 USA, No. 4 Korea, No. 5 Chinese Taipei, No. 6 Venezuela, No. 7 Netherlands, No. 8 Cuba, No. 9 Dominican Republic, No. 10 Panama, No. 11 Australia and No. 12 Puerto Rico.

The 12 participants represent four of the five Olympic continents with 10 - Japan, Mexico, USA, Korea, Chinese Taipei, Venezuela, Netherlands, Cuba, Dominican Republic and Puerto Rico - set to feature in the third successive edition. Australia earned the right for the second consecutive time while Panama will make their Premier12 debut.

Premier12 Teams

"Congratulations to the top 12 teams in the world for qualifying to the Premier12," WBSC President Riccardo Fraccari said. "We've had two memorable editions of the WBSC's flagship event and we're looking forward to another hugely successful tournament next year, with the best of international baseball captivating fans all around the world."

Korea (champions in 2015, silver medallists in 2019) and Japan (bronze medallists in 2015 and champions in 2019) are the only teams to medal in both previous editions of the Premier12. The United States (silver medal in 2015) and Mexico (bronze in 2019) also have a podium finish to their name.

The third WBSC Premier12 is scheduled from 10 to 24 November 2024.

The 12 participants will split into two groups, following which, after round-robin play, the top two finishers of each group will compete in the Super Round. The first and second-place teams of the Super Round will compete in the Premier12 Championship game, while the third and fourth-place finishers will play for a bronze medal.

Chinese Taipei and the Americas (location TBC) earned hosting rights for the group stage, with Group A taking place from 10-14 November (host country, city and venue will be announced at a later date).

Group B will take place in Taipei City from 14-18 November with the opening game to take place in the Nagoya Dome, Japan on 13 November.

The Tokyo Dome in Japan will host the Super Round from 21-23 November in a round-robin format before the medal games take place on 24 November.

World No. 1 Japan are the defending Premier12 Champions.

Read also: WBSC Premier12 History