Adelaide Giants repeat as Australian Baseball League Champions

Adelaide Giants repeat as Australian Baseball League Champions
The Giants beat the Perth Heat in the best-of-three final series after losing an epic 13-inning opener. National Team veteran Todd Van Steensel earned MVP honours.

The Adelaide Giants defeated the Perth Heat, 2-1, in the best-of-three final series to claim the Claxton Shield and the Australian Baseball League (ABL) 2024 title. Over 8,000 fans attended the games in Perth and Adelaide.

The Giants went back-to-back as in the 2023 finals, they came from behind after losing the series opener.

Final Series Results

Heat-Giants 4-3 (13 innings) BOX SCORE
Giants-Heat 6-3 BOX SCORE
Giants-Heat 3-1 BOX SCORE

The highlights of the final series are available on the ABL YouTube channel.

Rookie Briley Knight led the Giants' offence in Game Three. He went 2-for-2 and hit the game-winning two-RBI double in the bottom of the eighth.

"I'm part of this team. I've been waiting for my opportunity, and I wasn't going to waste it. I'm still trying to catch my breath," said Briley after the game.

Seven Giants pitchers limited Perth to one run.

The Heat couldn't stick to the lead they earned with an epic 13-inning win in Game One, highlighted by a clutch two-run home run by international baseball star Tim Kennelly.

Veteran right-hander Todd Van Steensel, a WBSC Premier12 and World Baseball Classic alum, came out of the bullpen in each game of the series, including the Game Three final inning, allowing no run and striking out five. He was named as the series MVP..

"Going back-to-back is pretty surreal," said Van Steensel after the game, "I would never have dreamt it."

Six teams participated in the 2023-24 ABL 40-game regular season. In the semifinals the Giants eliminated the Melbourne Aces, while the Heat overcame the Brisbane Bandits.

The Australian Baseball season continues with a two-game series between the Australian National Team and the Hanwha Eagles of the Korea Baseball Organization (KBO) league, scheduled in Melbourne on 17 and 18 February.