Granma wins back-to-back Cuban National Series title

Granma wins back-to-back Cuban National Series title
Cuba's top tier finale was live-streamed by WBSC’s GameTime Sport's YouTube channel tallying more than 433,000 views for the entire series.

Granma defeated Cocodrilos de Matanzas, 4-0, in game seven of the Cuban National (Baseball) Series to repeat as league champions. The team from Bayamo has won four of the last six national championships, becoming the sixth Cuban squad to win at least four league titles.

Granma came from behind in the series, recovering from a 3-2 deficit and winning the last two games at home stadium to win the Cuban baseball title in front of a sellout crowd. 

Veteran lefty Leandro Martinez took the mound for Granma in game seven and took the win, while Guillermo Aviles homered in the fourth inning to lead the offense. Osvaldo Abreu was named MVP of the series.

Granma is the sixth team to win at least four titles. The other five are the Industriales, Santiago de Cuba, Vegueros, Villa Clara and Pinar del Río.

The Cuban National Series was live-streamed by WBSC’s GameTime Sport's YouTube channel, which has registered more than 433,000 views for the series.