Lobas de Arecibo repeat as Puerto Rico Women's Baseball Double-A League champions

Lobas de Arecibo repeat as Puerto Rico Women's Baseball Double-A League champions
It's the 11th title for the Lobas. Arecibo lost just one game in the 2022-23 season. Lisandra Berrios earned MVP honours.

Lobas de Arecibo defeated Artesanas de Las Piedra in the final series, three games to one, to repeat as the Puerto Rico Women's Baseball Double-A League champions.

It's the 11th league title for the Lobas. Since the Women's Double-A inaugural season in 2009, only two other teams have claimed the title - Cangrejeras de Roosevelt (2010) and Artesanas de La Piedras (2019).

All the results of the final series

Lobas-Artesanas 1-0
Lobas-Artesanas 2-1
Artesanas-Lobas 3-2
Lobas-Artesanas 6-0

The rubber match was the only game of the series which didn't finish with a one-run difference.

Superstar Janiliz Rivera won a masterful pitching duel with Mirely Adorno in Game 1, which Lobas won on a base hit by Marie Collazo.

Angelis Rivera took a no-hitter and a 1-0 Artesanas lead into the sixth in Game 2. Arecibo got to her with base hits by Nachaly Rivera and Janiliz Rivera to reverse the lead in the sixth.

The following week, Angelis Rivera went back to the mound for the third game and led Artesanas to the win, ending a 17-game winning streak by the Lobas.

Game 4 was postponed because of inclement weather on 22 January, with the Lobas leading 4-0 in the fourth, and resumed on 22 January. Top prospect Danna Gonzalez earned the win, while Kiara Resto batted in three of the six runs for the Lobas.

Lisandra Berrios earned the final series MVP honours.

Lobas dominated the regular season individual awards. Resto earned MVP honours, Janiliz Rivera earned the Pitcher of the Year award and Kevin Gonzalez was honoured as the Manager of the Year. Artesanas' Mirelys Adorno earned Rookie of the Year honours.