Malarczuk’s homer powers CEF to first Argentina Men’s Softball title

Malarczuk’s homer powers CEF to first Argentina Men’s Softball title
CEF defeated Patronato, 12-0, in the final of the most important men’s softball tournament in Argentina. The two teams combined for nine WBSC World Champions 2019 on the field.

Ladislao Malarczuk led CEF’s lineup with a 2-run homer in the second inning to lift his team over Patronato, 12-0, in the final of Argentina's Men’s Softball National Club Championship. Martin Gonzalez, a WBSC Junior Men’s Softball World Champion in 2012, was dominant from the pitching rubber and went the distance to earn the win. This is the first title for the blue and white team.

Nine of the 20 starting players in the final match were part of Argentina's world championship team that won the WBSC Men’s Softball World Championship 2019 in the Czech Republic. Nine of CEF’s 10 starting players have won a WBSC senior and/or junior world title.

The tournament was live-streamed through the Asociacion Paranaense de Softbol's Facebook and YouTube channels, with the finals being broadcast by two local radio stations.

You might also be interested in:
- WBSC awards Argentina the hosting rights of first-ever U-23 Men's Softball World Cup
- One year ago: Argentina wins their first ever Softball World Championship
- Global Game: New women’s softball national league opens in Argentina
- Baseball5 shines in Argentina as 5-on-5 discipline lands in Salta province
- Argentina Men’s National Softball Team, 2019 WBSC World Champions, named among nation's “best of the decade” in sport
- Argentina's Montero, Motroni back on field, look to defend title at 2022 WBSC Men's Softball World Cup

Argentina's clubs national championships were played in four different categories, with promotions and relegations. A total of 30 teams participated in the tournament, eight of them in the top category.

On Saturday, Patronato inaugurated a new diamond in Parana, the seventh in the city that hosted the WBSC Junior Men’s Softball World Championship in 2012.

Global Game