Mexico to field roster of professionals at IV WBSC U-23 Baseball World Cup

Mexico to field roster of professionals at IV WBSC U-23 Baseball World Cup
Ten players are under contract with MLB organizations, including Padres top prospect and U-23 Baseball World Cup alumnus Brandon Valenzuela.

Mexico announced their 24-man roster for the IV WBSC U-23 Baseball World Cup.

Manager Enrique El Che Reyes, who also led Mexico at the XXX U-18 Baseball World Cup in September, will count on a roster of professionals. Ten players, including six pitchers, are under contract with Major League Baseball (MLB) organizations.

Switch-hitting catcher Brandon Valenzuela is among the top 30 prospects of the San Diego Padres. Right-hander Alan Mundo posted a 2.29 earned run average (ERA) at Class A Advanced for the Padres. Left-hander Erubiel Armenta pitched in 40 Class A advanced games out of the bullpen for the Philadelphia Phillies. Left-hander Fernando Sanchez started 10 games at Single-A for the Padres.

Valenzuela and left-handed pitcher Alemao Hernandez, who plays for the Mexico City Diablos Rojos in the Mexican League, were on the team that earned a silver medal in the III U-23 Baseball World Cup on home soil in Sonora.

PITCHERS (12) Nestor Anguamea, Yamil Castillo, Esteban Bloch, Manuel Castro, Ricardo Chapa, Alan Mundo, Jordan Suarez, José Luis Reyes, Alemao Hernandez, Fernando Sanchez, Manuel Partida, Erubiel Armenta.
CATCHERS (2) Christopher Escarrega, Brandon Valenzuela
INFIELDERS (6) Hector Mora, Hugo Sanchez, Aldo Nunez, Javier Sanchez, Oliver Zepeda, Victor Ruiz
OUTFIELDERS (4) Angel Camacho, Oliver Carrillo, Elmer Lopez, Zayed Salinas

The coaching staff includes Carlos Reyes, Alberto Pascencia, José Manuel Hernandez, Emmanuel Rangel. El Che Reyes, Carlos Reyes and Rangel were on the 2021 staff.

World No. 4 Mexico made the final in the last two editions of the WBSC U-23 Baseball World Cup, defeating Japan in 2018 in Barranquilla, Colombia, and losing to Venezuela in 2021.

They will compete in Group B and face No. 3 Korea, No. 8 Netherlands, No. 9 Cuba, No. 10 Australia and No. 16 Puerto Rico.

Mexico will open against Australia on 14 October at Tianmu Stadium in Taipei City.