Shohei Ohtani takes it all, is MLB American League MVP again

Shohei Ohtani takes it all, is MLB American League MVP again
After earning a Silver Slugger Award at DH, Japan baseball star Shohei Ohtani became the first player in history to be unanimously named MVP more than once.

Japan baseball star Shohei Ohtani was unanimously voted by the Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) as the American League MVP. The World Baseball Classic MVP and WBSC Premier12 icon earned his second MVP award in the last three years after earning a 2023 Silver Slugger Award at DH. Ohtani became the only player in Major League Baseball (MLB) history to be crowned MVP unanimously more than once.

The National League choice was also unanimous. BBWAA voted Venezuelan outfielder Ronald Acuña Jr.

A former Rookie of the Year and a reigning All-Star, Acuña also has international baseball ties. He competed in the 2016 Australian Baseball League (ABL), earning MVP honours.

More unanimous votes came for the two Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Awards. It has happened only 13 times since the award was presented to Jackie Robinson for the first time in 1947.

Outfielder Corbyn Carroll, who represented the United States at the U-18 level, was named the National League MVP. Tokyo 2020 gold medallist Kodai Senga finished second on the ballot.

Gunnar Henderson (Baltimore Orioles) won the American League ballot. He is also the 2023 Silver Slugger third baseman.

Read Also
Silver Slugger Awards
Gold Glove Awards

Orioles skipper Brandon Hyde is the American League Manager of the Year. France World Baseball Classic skipper Bruce Bochy, who led the Texas Rangers to a World Series title, finished second.

Jared Michael Skip Schumacher of the Miami Marlins earned the National League Manager of the Year Award.

Blake Snell (San Diego Padres) won the National League Cy Young Award. Since he previously won in the American League, he joined the company of Roger Clemens, Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, Max Scherzer, Gaylord Perry and Roy Halladay as the best pitchers in both leagues.

Gerrit Cole (New York Yankees) won unanimoulsy the American League Cy Young Award. He represented the US Collegiate National Team.

The MLB will hold the inaugural All-MLB Weekend, a new multi-day offseason event to honour baseball’s best, from 14 to 17 December in Las Vegas, Nevada where fans can interact with baseball legends, current stars, broadcasters and industry leaders while experiencing special amenities unique to Las Vegas.

After giving hosting rights for the 2024 All-Star Game to the Texas Rangers, MLB also announced that the Atlanta Braves will host the 95th All-Star Game on 16 July 2025. The Philadelphia Phillies will host the 2026 Midsummer Classic to celebrate 250 years of US independence.