Puerto Rico Double-A League ready for opening day

Puerto Rico Double-A League ready for opening day
The defending champions, Toritos de Cayey, will host first-year Criollos de Caguas at Estadio Pedro Montañez on Sunday, 12 February. A record 45 teams will participate in the season.

The 84th edition of the Puerto Rico Superior Double-A league, the top competition organized by the National Baseball Federation (FBPR), will open on Sunday, 12 February, at Estadio Pedro Montañez in Cayey. The defending champions, Toritos, will host the Criollos de Caguas, a first year-team.

Criollos, together with Cachorros de Ponce, return to the league after 40+ years of absence.

"I consider it a great accomplishment," commented William Miranda Torres, the Mayor of Caguas.

Caguas and Ponce have teams in the Roberto Clemente Professional Winter League.

Irizarry Pabón, the Mayor of Ponce, added, "Although we like professional baseball a lot, I believe Ponce needs to be in the Double-A league. This league takes baseball into villages. We want to be there because we do enjoy the game."

FBPR president José Daniel Quiles Rosas announced during the presentation that 45 teams would participate in the 2023 Double-A season. "Once again, we will showcase a competitive tournament. Great stories are guaranteed."

Leones de Patillas are out of their home (Estadio Angelita Lind, damaged by hurricanes Irma and Maria) for the third consecutive season. They will play as the home team in Arroyo. It will be the first season of Double-A baseball in Arroyo since 1979.

Leones are one of eight teams out of their stadium. The others are Industriales de Barceloneta, Próceres de Barranquitas, Tigres de Hatillo, Cocoteros de Loíza, Potros de Santa Isabel, Melao Melao de Vega Baja and Azucareros de Yabucoa.

Toritos won the preseason Copa de Campeones (Champions Cup), defeating Peces Voladores de Salinas 6-1 in the final.

The defending champions Azucareros de Yabucoa and the Mets de Guaynabo are tied at one in the best-of-five Youth Double-A league finals. The series will resume on 18 February.