Schedule unveiled for WBSC Baseball Final Qualifier to Tokyo Olympics

Schedule unveiled for WBSC Baseball Final Qualifier to Tokyo Olympics
Baseball’s final #RoadtoTokyo event will be an exciting winner-take-all competition for the last remaining Olympic ticket.

The World Baseball Softball Confederation today released the official game schedule for the 22-26 June WBSC Baseball Final Qualifier in Puebla, Mexico, where the sixth and final berth to the Tokyo 2020 Olympic baseball event will be awarded.

The five-game tournament will open with a round-robin (22-24 June), followed by one semifinal (25 June) game and the final (26 June). The winner of the round-robin will advance directly to the final, while the second- and third-place teams will compete in the semifinal.

“The Tokyo 2020 baseball picture is five games from being completed after a hard-fought and challenging road that saw international baseball shut down for more than a year and a half,” WBSC President Riccardo Fraccari said. “The team that wins in Puebla will complete the six-team field for the historic return of Olympic baseball, which promises to be one of the most spectacular and followed sporting events of the Tokyo 2020 Games.”

FOQ General Schedule

Three national teams -- world No. 8 Venezuela, No. 9 Netherlands and No. 10 Dominican Republic -- will compete in the Olympic qualifier at Estadio de Béisbol Hermanos Serdán, home of Mexican Baseball League’s Pericos de Puebla.

Game Schedule*

Tue, 22 June, 5 pm: Dominican Republic at Venezuela
Wed, 23 June, 5 pm: Venezuela at Netherlands
Thu, 24 June, 5 pm: Netherlands at Dominican Republic
Fri, 25 June, 5 pm: Semifinal (3rd Place at 2nd Place)
Sat, 26 June, 1 pm: Final (Semifinal winner at 1st Place of Round Robin)
*All times local

Road to Tokyo

The Netherlands took second place in the September 2019 WBSC Baseball Europe/Africa Qualifier to qualify for the final Olympic qualifier, while the Dominican Republic and Venezuela were the second- and third-place finishers of the recent WBSC Baseball Americas Qualifier.

Five nations have qualified for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic baseball event, including host Japan, Israel, Korea, Mexico and USA.

Tokyo 2020 – Olympic Baseball