Venezuelan Women’s Baseball League enters final stage

Venezuelan Women’s Baseball League enters final stage
Down to four teams, the league will crown a champion on Sunday, 26 June. The semifinals will take place on Friday and Saturday.

The Venezuelan Women’s Baseball League will crown a champion on Sunday, with the final of the league slated to be played at Alexis Padilla de Carrizal Stadium in Miranda, at 9:30 a.m. local time. 

Four teams are still in contention, with Anzoategui, Aragua, Distrito Capital and Lara competing in the semi-final stage. On Friday, Distrito Capital will play as the visiting team against Anzoategui, while Lara will take on Aragua. On Saturday, Distrito Capital will face Lara; while Aragua and Anzoategui will close the semi-final stage. 

The top two teams in this round will play in the final on Sunday.

The Venezuelan Women’s Baseball League opened in March with 11 teams in three divisions 

  • Occidental: Lara, Mérida, Yaracuy and Portuguesa 
  • Oriente: Anzoátegui, Distrito Capital, Miranda and La Guaira 
  • Centro: Carabobo, Guárico and Aragua.

Distrito Capital is the defending champion of the competition, after winning the 2019 edition over Lara. Miranda finished in third place.

Venezuela ranks No. 5 in the current WBSC Women’s Baseball World Rankings.