WBSC Softball Athlete Representatives election set to open on 1 November

WBSC Softball Athlete Representatives election set to open on 1 November
Four athlete representatives will be elected in total - two for women's softball and two for men's softball.

With the campaign period finishing on 31 October, a total of eight candidates - five women and three men - will stand for election for four positions as softball representatives on the WBSC Athletes Commission, when voting opens on Tuesday, 1 November.

Electronic voting is set to take place from 1-9 November (for more info contact: elections@wbsc.org) following which the composition of the WBSC Athletes Commission will be finalised on Wednesday 9 November with the closing of the election period for the four Softball Athlete Representatives - two women’s softball and two men’s softball.

The election candidates for Softball Athlete Representatives are:

Men's Softball  
Cole Evans (NZL)
Bruno Motroni (ARG)
Vaclav Svoboda (CZE)

Women's Softball
Monica Abbott (USA)
Angela Alvarado (GUA)
Lara Andrews (NZL)
Erika Polidori (CAN)
Maria Soto (VEN)

Considering only the softball positions are open for elections, only the eligible Softball Member Federations will be entitled to cast one vote for each election. The Athlete Representatives, Athlete's Commission or National Team of each WBSC Softball Member Federation shall collect polls from their respective athletes.

Following the elections, the WBSC Athletes' Commission will determine which four athletes will serve on the WBSC Executive Board and which four will serve on the Baseball and Softball Division Boards.

The athlete representatives for baseball have already been confirmed: Timothy Ian Atherton (AUS) and Randolph Oduber (NED) for Men's Baseball; and Wing Ki Mui (HKG) and Ayako Rokkaku (JPN) for Women's Baseball.

The WBSC will hold an Extraordinary Congress in written form on Thursday, 24 November to approve the elected athlete representatives and the athlete representatives' ratification in the WBSC Executive Board and the Baseball and Softball Division Boards.