Argentina Softball Confed to launch women's national league in 2021

Argentina Softball Confed to launch women's national league in 2021
A total of 16 teams from across the country will participate in the new tournament aiming to boost women’s softball competition regional and nationwide.

The Argentina Softball Confederation is launching a Women’s National League (Liga Nacional Femenina, LNF), with the inaugural season to begin in 2021. Softball Argentina made the announcement following recent talks with all the local softball associations in the country.

With the motto “16 teams, 4 regions, 1 champion”, the LNF will be a 16-team competition split into two stages. In the opening round, there will be four regional events, covering Argentina's North, Littoral, Central and South regions. Each regional event will have four teams, coming from the region’s local associations.

The winner of each regional tournament will advance to the Final Four, slated to be played in the final months of the year. The winner of the final four will be crowned as LNF Champion.

The format of all four-team events will be the same. A single round-robin, with the top-seed advancing to the final, and second and third place playing the semifinal. The dates and cities of each event will be announced in the coming weeks.

With this new event, Softball Argentina -- who are the current WBSC World Champions in men’s softball -- aims to boost the women's game. Currently, the South American nation occupies the 27th spot in the WBSC Women’s Softball World Rankings.