“Beisbol por la Paz” nominated for the “Spirit of Sport” Awards


The Beisbol Por la Paz (Baseball for Peace) project by the IBAF is within the short list of projects nominated for the Spirit of Sport Awards 2012. The Awards will be presented to the Laureates during the 10th annual SportAccord Convention in Quebec (Canada) on Thursday 24 May 2012 during the Plenary Session (starting at 11.45).

The Beisbol Por la Paz (Baseball for Peace) project by the IBAF is within the short list of projects nominated for the Spirit of Sport Awards 2012. The Awards will be presented to the Laureates during the 10th annual SportAccord Convention in Quebec (Canada) on Thursday 24 May 2012 during the Plenary Session (starting at 11.45).

These annual Awards commend the commitment and humanitarian spirit of SportAccord members who have made an exceptional and lasting contribution to using sport as a tool for positive social change.

Beisbol por la Paz is led by the Colombian (Federaciòn Colombiana de Beisbol) and the International Baseball Federation (IBAF), in collaboration with Peace and Sport, L’Organisation pour la Paix par le Sport (in English: “The organization for peace through sport”) with the support of Major League Baseball (MLB), EcopetrolKenkoGrupo Internacional de la Paz and Fundauniban.
Psychosocial professionals and sports educators will work hand in hand to teach vulnerable young girls and boys respect for the Rules of the Game, both in baseball and in society. As part of the program, the specific dynamics between baseball players and the intrinsic values of the sport will be used as educational vehicles to spread messages of tolerancedignityself-esteem and non-violent confrontation necessary to lead a better life and foster a culture of peace.
Atlanta Braves (currently pitching at the Triple A level) pitcher Julio Alberto Teheran (who grew up in Cartagena‘s slums) launched the program as a Champion for Peace, the name given to a group of over 60 international athletes committed to serve peace in the world through sport, an initiative created by Peace and Sport.

The other nominees amongst Sport Accord members are: Chess Brings Freedom (World Chess Federation), The Netball Safari (International Federation of Netball Associations),  5th CISM Military World GamesThe Peace (International Military Sports Council), ITTF Women’s Development ProgramPing Pong Paix and One Sport, One Family (International Table Tennis Federation), Riding towards a healthier future in the Gambia (Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme), Bike City(Union Cycliste Internationale), Judo for Children (International Judo Federation), Nittaku Dream Building(International Table Tennis Federation), UIPM Environmentally Friendly Laser Shooting System (Union Internationale de Pentathlon Moderne), Think Wise (International Cricket Council).

The nominees for Individual Awards are: Mr Joe Ray (International waterski & Wakeboard Federation), Mr Hadi Saei Bonekohal (World Taekwondo Federation) and MsSylvana Mestre (International Paralympic Committee).

The Spirit of Sport Award Commission is chaired by Don Porter (President of the International Softball Federation). The Members are: Mr Tamàs Ajàn (President, International Weightlifting Federation), Mr Keith Calkins (President, International Raquetball Federation), Ms Marisol Casado (President, International Triathlon Union), Ms Anita L. DeFrantz (Vice President, International Rowing Federation), Mr Ron Froelich (President, International World Games Association), Ms Sarah Lewis (Secretary General, International Ski Federation), Mr Klaus Schormann (President, Union International de Pentathlon Moderne), Mr Hein Verbruggen (President, SportAccord-no voting rights)