Colombian Professional Baseball League LCBP opens 2020-21 season

Colombian Professional Baseball League LCBP opens 2020-21 season
The LCBP regular season is being played in a bubble at 'Edgar Renteria' Stadium in Barranquilla. Pro baseball season is also set to open in Panama in the coming weeks.

The 2020-21 season of the Colombian Professional Baseball League (LCBP, Liga Colombiana de Béisbol Profesional) opened on Saturday, 28 November. All games are being played in the Edgar Renteria Stadium in Barranquilla.

The four participating clubs are the Caimanes de Barranquilla, the Tigres de Cartagena, the Gigantes de Barranquilla and defending champions Vaqueros de Monteria.

The regular season runs through 28 December, with the top-three finishers advancing to a 12-game semifinal round-robin that opens on 2 January 2021. The top two teams will play in the final series.

In Central America, four teams will also compete in the Panamanian Professional Baseball League (PROBEIS): the Aguilas Metropolitanas, the Toros de Herrera, Federale de Chiriqui and defending champions Astronautas de Los Santos.

Panamanian opening day has not yet a final date, but league president David SALAYANDIA expects the campaign to begin between 6 and 8 January 2021.

"We are aware of the fact it won't be an ordinary season," SALAYANDIA told media. "We still are confident it will be as competitive as it has always been.

The four clubs will play a 12-team regular season. The first-place team after the regular season will advance to the final series. The second- and third-place finishers will play a best-of-three playoff series The winner will play the regular-season champions in a best-of-three final series.

The five-team Nicaraguan Professional Baseball League (LBPN, Liga de Béisbol Profesional Nacional) opened on 13 November. After a 30-game regular season, the top four finishers will compete in a 12-game semifinal round-robin. The top two teams of the round-robin will advance to the final series.

Tren del Norte currently leads with a 9-2 record, followed by the Tigres del Chinandega (8-6), Gigantes de Riva (5-5), defending champions Leones de Leon (5-5) and Indios del Boer (1-10).

GameTime Sport, the OTT platform operated by WBSC in-house Media Company Base, is streaming two LBPN games a week.

Related article: 2020-21 season opens in Venezuela, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico