GameTime Classics: Watch Korea vs Japan in 2015 Premier12 Semi-Final

GameTime Classics: Watch Korea vs Japan in 2015 Premier12 Semi-Final
02/04/2020
Japan turned to Shohei Ohtani, while Korea countered with Rhee Dae-eun in this blockbuster rivalry matchup at the inaugural WBSC Premier12 in 2015.

WBSC will be re-running one of the most memorable international games in recent history, the Korea vs. Japan 2015 WBSC Premier12 semi-final at a sold-out (40,258) Tokyo Dome.

Superstar Shohei Ohtani, now with MLB's Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim, took the mound for Japan, while Rhee Dae-eun, now with KBO's KT Wiz, started for Korea.

Ohtani had already silenced Korea's bats in the tournament opener in Sapporo on 8 October. Ohtani, then 21, needed 91 pitches to complete his six innings of work in the opener. He struck out 10 and allowed only two hits and two walks, with his fastball topping out at 161 km/h.

Japan's offense heading into the semi-final was powered by sluggers like Sho Nakata and Yoshitomo Tsutsugo, while Korea featured a potent line-up behind stars Byung-ho Park and Hyun-soo Kim.

Japan entered the 2015 semi-final with a perfect 6-0 record, while Korea was 4-2, dropping games to Japan and USA in the Opening Round.

The game is the ninth episode of the GameTime Classic Series and can be watched for free at www.youtube.com/wbsc at 9 pm Eastern US Standard Time* on Thursday, 2 April (3 am Central European Time, 10 am Japan and Korea Time on Friday, 3 April) and Friday at 9 am Eastern Standard Time (3:00 pm Central European Time* and 10:00 pm Japan and Korea Time) at www.facebook.com/wbsc. *Observing daylight saving time.

The tenth episode of the GameTime Classics series on Friday/Saturday will feature the final of the first-ever co-ed U-12 Softball World Cup between Chinese Taipei and Peru.

Watch more GameTime Classics:
Episode 8: Singapore, Argentina open 2020 U-18 Men’s Softball World Cup with a bang
Episode 7: Watch Chinese Taipei and Japan battle in the 2018 Women's Baseball World Cup
Episode 6: JPN vs USA dramatic 2019 U-19 Women’s Softball World Cup final
Episode 5: Re-live Mexico v USA 2019 U-12 Baseball World Cup elimination game
Episode 4: Mexico-New Zealand epic battle at WBSC Men’s Softball World Championship 2019
Episode 2: Re-live the Japan-USA Final of the 2018 WBSC Women’s Softball World Championship
Watch for free: WBSC Baseball, Softball World Cup blockbuster games