Happy 96th anniversary, Mexican Baseball League

Happy 96th anniversary, Mexican Baseball League
Mexico City hosted the LMB's first-ever game on 28 June 1925. A total of 144 teams have participated in the league through 2019. After the cancellation of the 2020 season, two new teams joined LMB in 2021.

On 28 June 1925, Mexico and Agraria faced off at Parque Franco Inglés in Mexico City to play the inaugural game of the Liga Mexicana de Béisbol (LMB - Mexican Baseball League). Mexico defeated Agraria, 7-5, starting a long-lived, 95-year history that continues shining today as one of the most renowned professional baseball leagues in the world.

You might also be interested in:
- LMB 2021 opening day
- Former Olympian Horacio de la Vega named LMB president
- Luz Gordoa first LMB female umpire

The first LMB season had seven teams: Club México, Carmona, Nacional, Agraria, Guanajuato, Águila and 74 Regimiento. The latter was the first LMB champion.

A total of 144 teams have participated in the league through 2019. The oldest squad among the current participants is the Sultanes de Monterrey with 81 seasons played, followed by Diablos de México (80), Tigres de Quintana Roo (65) and Saraperos de Saltillo (50). The Diablos have won the most LMB titles with 16, followed by Tigres (12) and Sultanes de Monterrey (10).

COVID-19 forced LMB to cancel the 2020 season.

Before the 2021 season, the league's president Horacio de la Vega announced the expansion from 16 to 18 teams. The new teams, who take the historic total of participants to 146, are the Mariachis de Guadalajara and El Aguila de Veracruz.

Guadalajara is currently battling for first place in the north division, together with the Toros de Tijuana. The Mexico City Diablos Rojos and the Pericos de Puebla have the best records in the southern division.

Check the updated STANDINGS on the official LMB website

In 2018, LMB along with the winter Liga Mexicana del Pacífico (LMP), joined the WBSC family as Associate Members.