KBO: NC Dinos defeat Doosan Bears in six to win team's first-ever Korean Series title

KBO: NC Dinos defeat Doosan Bears in six to win team's first-ever Korean Series title
After trailing two game to one in the series, the Dinos shut out the defending champions for 25 consecutive innings. Premier12 star catcher Yang Eui-ji made a difference in Games 4 and 5.

The NC Dinos are the new/first-time champions of the Korea Baseball Organization (KBO).

They defeated defending champs, the Doosan Bears, in six games to win the Korean Series for the first time since joining the KBO in 2013.

Korean Series Results

Dinos 5-3 Bears
Bears 5-4 Dinos
Bears 7-6 Dinos
Dinos 3-0 Bears
Dinos 5-0 Bears
Dinos 4-2 Bears

The Bears led the series two games to one, after having won Game 3. Kim Jae-hwan, who started six games at DH for the Korean National Team in the WBSC Premier12 2019, drove in three runs, including the tie-breaker in the seventh.

The defending champions' offence then went silent for 25 consecutive innings after the win, scoring again in the seventh inning of Game 6, with the Dinos already leading 4-0.

There were some heroics from the pitching staff of the Dinos in the last three games of the series. Former major league pitcher Drew Rucinsky, who earned the win in the series opener, posted an eight-out save in Game 4, following the scoreless performance of 21-year-old starter Song Myung-gi.

Song pitched a scoreless eighth, setting up the ninth for closer Won Jong-hyan in the series finale. Following his Game 4 save, Rucinsky then started Game 6 and pitched five scoreless innings, despite working on only two days rest.

Koo Chang-mo went seven scoreless innings for the win in Game 5.

Star catcher Yang Eui-ji, who helped Korea win the Premier12 2015 and a silver medal in the second edition, put the Dinos ahead in the sixth inning of Game 4 and hit a two-run homer in Game 6.

The Korean Series 2020 was entirely played at the Gocheok Sky Dome in Seoul, the only roofed stadium in the country and the venue for Group C of the WBSC Premier12 2019.