Mexican Baseball League to open season on 20 May

Mexican Baseball League to open season on 20 May
The 18 teams will compete in a total of 594 regular-season games. The top 12 will advance to the postseason.

The Mexican Baseball League (Liga Mexicana de Beisbol, LMB) has unveiled its schedule for the 2021 season.

Opening Day will see the Sultanes de Monterrey visit defending champions Acereros de Monclova on Thursday, 20 May.

The 2020 season had 16 participating clubs, split into two different divisions (zonas). The President of the Federal Republic of Mexico Andrés Manuel Lopez Obrador (or AMLO) recently welcomed two expansion-teams: Aguila de Veracruz and Mariachis de Guadalajara.

2021 Season Participants
Acereros del Norte, Algodoneros Union Laguna, Generales de Durango, Mariachis de Guadalajara, Rieleros de Aguascalientes, Saraperos de Saltillo, Sultanes de Monterrey, Tecolotes de los Dos Laredos and the Toros de Tijuana will compete in the north division. The Aguila de Veracruz, Bravos de Leon, Diablos Rojos del Mexico, Guerreros de Oaxaca, Leones de Yucatan, Olmecas de Tabasco, Pericos de Puebla, Piratas de Campeche and the Tigres de Quintana Roo will compete in the south division.

Click here for the Mexican Baseball League 2021 - Full Schedule

You might also be interested in:
- Mexican Baseball League to expand from 16 to 18 teams as nation plans major baseball boost
- Mexican Baseball League LMB 2020 season officially cancelled
- Mexican Baseball League LMB signs agreement to boost Baseball5 in schools across the nation
- Mexican Baseball League LMB celebrates 95-year anniversary

- Tomateros de Culiacan win Mexican Pacific League
- Caimanes de Barranquilla win Colombia Professional Baseball League title
- Caribes de Anzoátegui win Venezuelan Baseball League LVBP
- Criollos win Puerto Rican league crown, become most successful baseball club in LBPRC history
- Aguilas earn 22nd Dominican pro baseball league title
- Gigantes win Nicaraguan Pro Baseball League crown in six games

Six teams per division will advance to the postseason. The postseason will consist of best-of-seven series that is scheduled from 15 August to 14 September, the day of an eventual Game 7 of the championship series 'Serie del Rey' (King Series).

The 2020 LMB season was cancelled amid the COVID-19 pandemic. It was the first time the league cancelled its season in a 95-year history.