Mexican Pacific League: It's Culiacan vs. Hermosillo for the title

Mexican Pacific League: It's Culiacan vs. Hermosillo for the title
The series is known as 'The Classic'. Hermosillo has 16 league titles, while Culiacan has 12.

The Tomateros de Culiacan and the Naranjeros de Hermosillo will play for the title of the Mexican Pacific League (LMP, Liga Mexicana del Pacifico).

Culiacan beat the Yaquis de Ciudad Obregon, while Hermosillo defeated the Sultanes de Monterrey in the playoffs. Both seven-game semifinal series finished four games to two.

The final series has been presented as El Clasico (The Classic) by local media, due to the fact that the two franchises hold the most titles in the history of the league: Hermosillo has 16 and Culiacan has 12.

The two franchises met for the first time in the final at the end of the 1979-1980 season and Hermosillo earned the title winning the series 4-2. Culiacan won also 4-2 in 1982-1983 and 1996-1997, while Hermosillo won the 1994-1995 final, again 4-2.

The Complete Schedule:
Game 1 Friday 22 January Culiacan @ Hermosillo
Game 2 Saturday 23 January Culiacan @ Hermosillo
Game 3 Monday 25 January Hermosillo @ Culiacan
Game 4 Tuesday 26 January Hermosillo @ Culiacan
Game 5 Wednesday 27 January Hermosillo @ Culiacan
Game 6 Friday 29 January Culiacan @ Hermosillo
Game 7 Saturday 30 January Culiacan @ Hermosillo

Culiacan's outfielder Sebastian Elizalde (pictured above) will play in the final series as the MVP of the 2020-2021 season. He had 11 home runs, 45 runs batted in and a batting average of .282 in the 46-game regular season.

You might also be interested in:
- Puerto Rican Pro Baseball League finals open as Caguas take Game 1
- Winter Leagues open in the Americas
- Gigantes win Nicaraguan Pro Baseball League crown in six games
- Colombia Professional Baseball League final series to open 16 January