Puerto Rico inducts 14 to the Amateur Baseball Hall of Fame

Puerto Rico inducts 14 to the Amateur Baseball Hall of Fame
Puerto Rico is one of the baseball world's hot spots.

José Quiles, the president of the Puerto Rican Baseball Federation, is amongst 14 new inductees to the Puerto Rican Amateur Baseball Hall of Fame (RIBAP, Recinto de los Inmortales del Béisbol Aficionado Puertorriqueño).

Quiles is one of two pioneers inducted during the 32nd ceremony at the Raul Pipote Oliveras coliseum in Yauco. The second is Antonio Tato Robles, former chairman of Fajardo.

The players inducted are right-handed pitchers José Papote Mateo, Jose Papo Jimenez, José Cheo Cancel, Jesus Chuito Berrios, Edwin Arroyo, Luis Rivera, Luis Salcedo, Gilberto Matias; left-handed pitchers Efrain Vazquez, José Chago Santiago; catcher José Danny Velazquez; and outfielder Kenny Velez.

The mayor of Las Piedras, Miguel 'Micky' Lopez, received the Osvaldo Gil Award for his contribution to baseball development.

Osvaldo Gil is a legendary baseball executive who served as the chairman of the International Baseball Federation Technical Commission for 16 years.

Cover picture: José Quiles Rosas welcomes Kenny Velez.