Puerto Rico opens training camp for Olympic Baseball Americas Qualifier

Puerto Rico opens training camp for Olympic Baseball Americas Qualifier
Manager Juan 'Igor' Gonzalez will use 15 practices to select the final team roster. The camp opened with over 30 players in consideration for the Puerto Rican National Team.

The world No. 11 Puerto Rican National Baseball Team has begun training for the Americas Baseball Olympic Qualifier, which will take place from 22 to 26 March in Surprise and Tempe, Arizona, USA.

Manager Juan Igor Gonzalez will use 15 practises to select his final roster of players. The Puerto Rican Baseball Federation plans to use the Eastern Sports Complex in Caguas, the Olympic Shelter Park in Salinas, the Moisés Garcia de Guaynabo Stadium and the Roberto Clemente Walker Stadium.

Efrain Williams, the general manager of the Puerto Rican National Teams, said that over 30 players have been invited to the tryouts, as camp opened on Friday, 7 February in Caguas.

The group of invited pitchers includes Christian Torres, Luis Cintrón, Ramesis Rosa, Efraín Nieves, Miguel Martínez, Iván Maldonado, Bryan Escanio, Freddie Cabrera, Miguel Mejía, Cristian González, Jesús Ortiz, Alberto Canales, Joshua Torres and Juan Caballero.

The position players invited are Wilfredo Rodríguez, Jean Ortiz, Michael Arroyo, Rey Navarro, José Rivera, Luis Mateo, Francisco Tirado, Jeffrey Domínguez, Kevin Luciano and Francisco ‘Ati’ Cruz, Edwin Gómez, Christian Sojo, César Rivera, Hibraim Córdova, Eddie González, Brahiam Maldonado, Jan Vázquez and Alexander Meléndez.

Pitchers Giovanni Soto, Luis Leroy Cruz, Fernando Cruz, Adalberto Flores and position players Iván De Jesús Jr. and Ozzie Martínez are also amongst those considered, but won't be in camp due to their participation with the Puerto Rico Cangrejeros in the Caribbean Series 2020.

Williams added that other players will be invited before the final roster is selected.

Puerto Rico is in Group A of the Olympic Qualifier together with the hosts and world No. 2 USA, No. 10 the Dominican Republic and No. 15 Nicaragua. The Boricua will open against the Dominican Republic.

World No. 8 Cuba, No. 9 Venezuela, No. 12 Canada and No. 14 Colombia will compete in Group B.