RusStar Moscow first-time baseball champions of Russia

RusStar Moscow first-time baseball champions of Russia
Last season, RusStar Moscow lost the finals 4-3 to Moskvich, after leading the best of seven series 3-0.

The Russian National Baseball Championship came to an end on Saturday with RusStar Moscow becoming champions for the first time following a 5-1 win over the Moscow Wolves in the best-of-nine Finals Series. Moskvich finished third.

The Finals started on August 22. Moscow Wolves took the lead in the series with a 3-2 victory. However, RusStar came back with four consecutive wins (11-4, 11-6, 8-1 and 16-5). Despite the best efforts made by the Wolves and the National Team pitcher Andrei Lobanov, RusStar closed the series at the home stadium taking a 5-2 win.

RusStar's winning-title team grabbed all four individual awards of the Final Series. Yan Perez was awarded Best Defensive Player. The Best Hitter prize went to David Castillo. Petr Balan became the Best Pitcher of the series while Geidys Soler was acknowledged as the MVP.

It took RusStar two seasons to win the title. In 2019 the team was leading 3-0 in the best of four series, but eventually lost to Moskvich by 3-4.

The 2020 baseball season continues with the Russian Cup in October.

Read More: New baseball stadium inaugurated in Moscow, Russia as season opens

Photo: Mark Ilin