The baseball season is off to an early start in Spain


The 2012 baseball season officialy took off as the spanish Division de Honor opened on February 25th

The 2012 baseball season officialy took off as the spanish Division de Honor opened on February 25th

The top spanish league features 10 teams and plays a double leg round robin regular season that is set to finish on July 22nd. During the regular season each team plays 2 games per week end and in the second game the pitchers must be eligible for the Spain national team.

The first 2 teams will play for the pennant in a best of 5 play off series. The top 4 will play in the 2013 Copa del Rey and the last place team will be relegated to the Primera Division A, a team league in 2012.
After the first 4 games the Astros Valencia and CB Barcelona are still undefeated.

The Division de Honor was first played in 1946Viladecans Barcelona has the most titles: 21.

FC Barcelona won the 2011 championship (4th title) before developing in the new Club Beisbol Barcelona.