Tomateros de Culiacan win Mexican Pacific League

Tomateros de Culiacan win Mexican Pacific League
Jesse Castillo homered twice in a 10-inning Game 7 and earned MVP honours.

The Tomateros de Culiacan needed 10 innings to defeat the Naranjeros de Hermosillo in Game Seven of the Mexican Pacific League (LMP; Liga Mexicana del Pacifico) championship series. It's their 13th LMP title overall, the third in the last four seasons and the second in a row.

You might also be interested in:
- Caimanes de Barranquilla win Colombia Professional Baseball League title
- Caribes de Anzoátegui win Venezuelan Baseball League LVBP
- Criollos win Puerto Rican league crown, become most successful baseball club in LBPRC history
- Aguilas earn 22nd Dominican pro baseball league title
- Mexican Pacific League: It's Culiacan vs. Hermosillo for the title
- Gigantes win Nicaraguan Pro Baseball League crown in six games

First baseman Jesse Castillo homered off Fernando Salas to score the tiebreaking run. It was his second home run in Game Seven.

Culiacan came from behind to win a dramatic series where six out of the seven games were decided by one run. Castillo had two hits and two RBIs and was instrumental in a 4-3 win in Game Six that forced a Game Seven. Culiacan broke the tie in the bottom of the ninth thanks to designated hitter Michael Wing.

All the Results
Naranjeros-Tomateros 2-1
Tomateros-Naranjeros 6-1
Naranjeros-Tomateros 5-4
Naranjeros-Tomateros 1-0
Tomateros-Naranjeros 4-3
Tomateros-Naranjeros 4-3
Tomateros-Naranjeros 7-6

Castillo was named the MVP of the series.

LMP is an Associate Member of the World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC).

Global Game