WBSC Umpire Mark Porteous wins New Zealand Softballer of the Year award

WBSC Umpire Mark Porteous wins New Zealand Softballer of the Year award
The Softballer of the Year award is the top prize in New Zealand softball. National team members Thomas Enoka, Stefanie Smith, Caitlyn Lewin and Dylan Jackson were recognised in the four player categories.

Mark Porteous, WBSC Softball International Umpire who has been nominated to officiate at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games softball competition, was awarded with the New Zealand 2020 Softballer of the Year award, Softball New Zealand’s top recognition. He was also named Umpire of the Year.

Porteous had an incredible year that culminated with his selection to the Tokyo Olympic Games. Having umpired the 2019 WBSC Men’s Softball World Cup final in the Czech Republic, the 2019 WBSC Asia/Oceania Olympic Qualifier in China, and the 2020 WBSC U-18 Men’s Softball World Cup final in New Zealand, he’s considered one of the best softball umpires in the world.

With this award, he joins New Zealand legends like Mark Sorenson, Thomas Makea or Donny Hale, who have also received this honour.

On the field, Thomas Enoka -- who played the 2019 World Cup with the Black Sox -- was named Men’s Player of the Year. Stefanie Smith received the Women’s Player of the Year award after being the top offensive player of the White Sox at the WBSC Softball Asia/Oceania Olympic Qualifier in Shanghai.

In addition, Caitlyn Lewin and Dylan Jackson were named Emerging Player of the Year in the women and men categories, respectively. Lewin was the everyday shortstop and the top hitter of New Zealand’s ninth-place team in the 2019 WBSC U-19 Women’s Softball World Cup; Jackson was named to the WBSC U-18 Men’s Softball World Cup 2020 All World Team as the designated player.

The 2020 Softball New Zealand Annual Awards recognised and awarded the contribution of individuals and organisations in 15 different categories. The full list of winners can be viewed at the Softball New Zealand website.